East Timor from 1970

Timeline created by skatergirl_95
In History
  • Balibo Five

    The Balibo Five was a group of journalists for Australian television networks based in the town of Balibo in East Timor where they were killed on 16 October 1975 during Indonesian incursions prior to the invasion.
  • Portugese Withdrawl

    The Indonesian invasion of East Timor began 7 December 1975 when the Indonesian military invaded East Timor under the pretext of anti-colonialism. The overthrow of a popular and briefly Fretilin-led government sparked a violent quarter-century occupation in which between approximately 60,000 and 100,000 East Timorese soldiers and civilians are estimated to have died
  • bj habibie

    bj habibie
    Bacharuddin Jusuf Habibie, also known B. J. Habibie, was the third President of Indonesia, holding office from 1998 to 1999.
  • Dili Massacre

    The Dili Massacre (also known as the Santa Cruz Massacre) was the shooting of East Timorese pro-independence demonstrators in the Santa Cruz cemetery in the capital, Dili, on 12 November 1991, during the Indonesian occupation of East Timor.

    The International Force for East Timor (INTERFET) was a multinational peacekeeping taskforce, mandated by the United Nations to address the humanitarian and security crisis which took place in East Timor from 1999–2000 until the arrival of United Nations peacekeepers