Employment Law Timeline

Timeline created by erinmeek
  • Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA)

    Creates the right to a minimum wage, and "time-and-a-half" overtime pay when people work over forty hours a week.
  • Equal Pay Act (EPA)

    Prohibits employers from partaking in wage discrimination between men and women based on sex.
  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

    This law prohibits employers from discriminating against individuals on the basis of color, race, sex, religion, national origin.
  • Age Discrimination in Employment Act

    Prohibits employers from discriminating against individuals aged 40 or older in wages, hiring, promotions, layoffs, benefits, terminations, and other terms or conditions when it comes to employment.
  • Occupational Safety and Health Act

    Governs occupational safety and health in the workplace
  • Americans with Disabilities Act

    Prohibits local governments, state governments, labor unions, employment agencies, and private employers from discriminating against individuals with disabilities who are qualified during hiring, job application procedures, advancement, firing, job training, compensation, and other privileges, terms, and conditions of employment.
  • Family and Medical Leave Act

    This act grants employees who have worked a minimum of 1,250 hours in the past year to take a job-protected and unpaid leave for family and medical reasons.
  • The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

    It also broadens Medicare coverage and Medicaid eligibility. This act establishes exchanges for health insurance.