Life cycle of a Butterfly

Timeline created by snw30
  • Stage One:

    Stage One:
    The first stage is the egg. The eggs are commonly found on plant leaves and if you look closely enough you will find one.
  • Period: to

    The life cycle of a butterfly

    The life cycle of a butterfly begins as a egg to a caterpillar, cacoon then butterfly living for up to 12 weeks.
  • Stage Two:

    Stage Two:
    The second stage is known as the larva or caterpillar. Caterpillars do not stay in this stage for long as all they do is eat in this stage. The first thing a caterpillar will eat is the leaf they are born on. Caterpillars grow in weight and length from eating which is why it is important for the next stage.
  • Stage Three:

    Stage Three:
    The third stage is the Pupa. This is when the caterpillar goes into a cocoon to begin their transformation into a butterfly. This is the stage where the caterpillars tissue, organs and limbs transform to make them into a butterfly.
  • Stage Four:

    Stage Four:
    The fourth stage of the life cycle is called the adult butterfly. Once the butterfly emerges it will begin getting ready to begin the life cycle of its own eggs.